First Team
JD Welsh Cup Round 2 Sat 14 October Ogi Bridge Meadow Stadium
Haverfordwest County
0 (4)
Baglan Dragons
0 (1)
0-0 (4-1 pens)

Haverfordwest County and Baglan Dragons will meet for the first time tomorrow afternoon when the sides do battle in the second round of the JD Welsh Cup at the Ogi Bridge Meadow.

The Bluebirds will be looking to go one better than last season, when we were eliminated in the second round by Trethomas Bluebirds, as we aim to build confidence in the squad for the second half of Phase One in the JD Cymru Premier.

The Port Talbot side have experienced a rather remarkable rise in the last eight years, which has seen them go from competing in the South Wales Alliance League Division One – the sixth tier of Welsh domestic football – in 2015-16, all the way up to the JD Cymru South this season, a feat they achieved by winning promotion from the Ardal South West via the play-offs last term.

They have made a more than respectable start to the campaign, as they currently sit seventh having won four, drawn three and lost two of their nine league matches to date. Their most recent outing saw them go down 3-0 to Caerau Ely, last season’s Ardal South West champions, last Friday.

Carl Clement’s side booked their place in the second round with a 5-1 victory over FC Cwmaman of the South Wales Alliance League Premier Division in the first round, with Levi Waters, Dan Williams, Josh Evans, Jack Fleming and Tom Randall all on target.

Defender Lee Jenkins will be unavailable for the Bluebirds following his sending off in last season’s competition.

Baglan Dragons – At a glance

Ground – Evans Bevan Playing Fields

Manager – Carl Clement

Captain – Lewis Holmes

Baglan Dragons manager, Carl Clement
Baglan Dragons manager, Carl Clement. (Pic by Lewis Mitchell/FAW)
Form guide

Haverfordwest County


Baglan Dragons


Key player

Tom Davies

LLANTWIT MAJOR, WALES – 12 AUGUST 2023: Baglan Dragons’ Thomas Davies celebrates a Baglan Dragons’ Tom Randall goal during the 2023/24 JD Cymru South League fixture between Llantwit Major AFC & Baglan Dragons FC at Frampton Lane, Llantwit Major, Wales (Pic By John Smith/FAW)

Referee: Tegid Richards

Assistants: Steffan Davies and Josh Roper

Observer: Nigel Richards

Referee, Tegid Richards (centre)
Referee, Tegid Richards (centre). (Pic by Lewis Mitchell/FAW)
How to follow

If you’re not able to make it to the Ogi Bridge Meadow for the game, you can still keep up with the action by following live, play-by-play updates on our X (formerly Twitter) page.

JD Welsh Cup second round ties

Kick-off times are 14:00 unless stated

Friday October 13

Caerau Ely vs. Afan Lido (19:30)

Trefelin vs. Ammanford (19:30)

Llanelli Town vs. Llantwit Major (19:30)

Flint Mountain vs. Holywell Town (19:45)

Pontypridd United vs. Abertillery Bluebirds (19:45)

Bala Town vs. Llandudno (20:00)

Llanidloes Town vs. Gresford Athletic (20:00)

Saturday October 14

Abergavenny Town vs. Cardiff Airport

Canton vs. Cambrian and Clydach Vale

Aberfan vs. Briton Ferry Llansawel

Haverfordwest County vs. Baglan Dragons

Chepstow Town vs. Abercarn United

Barry Town United vs. Porthcawl Town Athletic

Carmarthen Town vs. Evans and Williams

Cwmbran Celtic vs. Pen-y-Bont

Aberystwyth Town vs. Pontardawe Town

South Gower vs. Rockspur

Trethomas Bluebirds vs. Penrhiwceiber Rangers

Denbigh Town vs. Flint Town United

Bow Street vs. Buckley Town

Brickfield Rangers vs. Guilsfield

Airbus UK Broughton vs. Rhos Aelwyd

Connah’s Quay Nomads vs. Caernarfon Town

Colwyn Bay vs. Llanrwst United

CPD Y Felinheli vs. Newtown

Nantlle Vale vs. Mold Alexandra

St Asaph City vs. Prestatyn Town

Chirk AAA vs. Porthmadog

Cardiff Metropolitan vs. Cwmbran Town (14:30)

Bangor 1876 vs. Cefn Albion (14:30)

Menai Bridge Tigers vs. Llanuwchllyn (17:30)