First Team
Cymru Premier Tue 29 August Jenner Park
Barry Town United
  • Hulbert (14')
  • Press (45+1')
Haverfordwest County
  • Watts (90', 90+6')

Haverfordwest County are back in league action tomorrow evening as we make the journey east to face Barry Town United under the lights.

Both teams were involved in dramatic encounters on Saturday afternoon, with Rhys Abbruzzese’s 96th-minute free-kick rescuing a point for the Bluebirds against Caernarfon Town, while the Dragons scored in the 85th and 96th minute to earn an unlikely point from a 2-2 draw away at champions The New Saints.

The sides will be facing off for the first time since August 2022, after Barry spent last season in the JD Cymru South. That meeting saw County run out 4-2 winners in the Nathaniel MG Cup, thanks to goals from Lee Jenkins and former Linnet, Abbruzzese, to go with Jack Wilson’s brace.

Both sides are still searching for their first victory of the season, having drawn two and lost one of their opening three encounters in the top-flight. A win for Tony Pennock’s men could see them climb as many as three places, with the table still very much tightly-packed at this early stage of the campaign.

Barry Town United – At a glance

Founded – 1912

Ground – Jenner Park

Manager – Steve Jenkins

Captain – Kayne McLaggon

Last five meetings

August 8, 2022: Haverfordwest County 4-2 Barry Town United

April 15, 2022: Haverfordwest County 2-0 Barry Town United

March 5, 2022: Barry Town United 0-1 Haverfordwest County

November 9, 2021: Haverfordwest County 1-1 Barry Town United

August 31, 2021: Barry Town United 3-2 Haverfordwest County

Form guide

Barry Town United


Haverfordwest County


Key player

Kayne McLaggon

Barry Town United AFC v Aberystwyth Town FC, Nathaniel MG Cup 23/24, Jenner Park Stadium, 5/8/23:
Barry Town United’s Kayne Mclaggon.
Pic by Andrew Dowling/FAW

Referee: Bryn Markham-Jones

NEWTOWN, POWYS, WALES – 13th MAY 2023 – Referee Bryn Markham-Jones before Newtown AFC vs Haverfordwest County AFC in the JD Cymru Premier European Play-Off final at Latham Park, Newtown (Pic by Sam Eaden/FAW)

Assistants: Harry Hendricks and Jordan Christopher

Fourth official: Ieuan Lewis

Observer: Rodger Gifford

How to follow

If you’re not able to make it to Jenner Park for the game, you can still keep up with the action by following live, play-by-play commentary on our YouTube channel, as we debut #TheBluebirdsNest Live to bring supporters closer to the action! Ryan Evans will be joined by vice-chairman, Julian Furne, to describe all the action. To listen along, simply follow this link.

There will also be play-by-play text updates on our Twitter page.

JD Cymru Premier MD4 fixtures

Kick-off times are 19:45 unless stated

Tuesday August 29

Connah’s Quay Nomads vs. Newtown

Pen-y-Bont vs. Cardiff Metropolitan

Caernarfon Town vs. Bala Town

Colwyn Bay vs. The New Saints

Barry Town United vs. Haverfordwest County

Aberystwyth Town vs. Pontypridd United (20:00)

Previous meeting