First Team
JD Welsh Cup Round 2 Sat 8 October CCB Centre For Sporting Excellence
Trethomas Bluebirds
  • Rees (30', 93')
Haverfordwest County
  • Wilson (17')

Haverfordwest County travel to Caerphilly tomorrow to take on Trethomas Bluebirds in the second round of the JD Welsh Cup (Kick-off: 5.45pm).

The Pembrokeshire Bluebirds will be looking to get back on the winning trail following the narrow 1-0 defeat to Connah’s Quay Nomads last weekend, while Trethomas were victorious against Marshfield in the FAW Amateur Trophy, running out 5-0 winners.

Tomorrow’s opponents have been in good form of late, winning five of their last six matches in all competitions. Their performances in the Ardal South East have been mixed so far this season, as they currently sit 11th having won two, drawn one and lost three of their six games to date.

To reach this stage of the competition, Mark Dunford’s side had to overcome Wattsville, who they beat 2-0 away from home, and Ton Pentre, who they eased to a 6-0 victory against three weeks ago.

There will be a familiar feeling for two of the opposition players tomorrow, with former Haverfordwest County players Adam Raymond and Bobby Briers now part of the setup at Trethomas Bluebirds.

Trethomas Bluebirds – At a glance

Founded – 1903

Ground – CCB Centre for Sporting Excellence

Manager – Mark Dunford

Captain – Tom Rutherford

Form guide

Trethomas Bluebirds


Haverfordwest County


Key player

Will Bevan


Referee: Jordan Harman

Assistants: Matthew Johnson and Kevin Russell

Observer: Stephen Hames

How to follow

If you’re not able to make it to the CCB Centre for Sporting Excellence for the game, you can still keep up with the action by following live, play-by-play updates on our Twitter page.

JD Welsh Cup second round fixtures

Saturday October 8

Risca United vs. Penybont

Prestatyn Town vs. Llandudno

Bow Street vs. Colwyn Bay

Mold Alexandra vs. Holyhead Hotspur

Penycae vs. Guilsfield

Llanuwchllyn vs. Holywell Town

Hawarden Rangers vs. Bala Town

FC Queens Park vs. Airbus UK Broughton

CPD Y Felinheli vs. Conwy Borough

CPD Y Rhyl 1879 vs. Ruthin Town

Llandudno Albion vs. Buckley Town

Chirk AAA vs. The New Saints

Glantraeth vs. Cefn Druids

Llanrug United vs. Gresford Athletic

Canton Liberal vs. Llanelli Town

Pill AFC vs. Cardiff Metropolitan

Abergavenny Town vs. Goytre United

Hakin United vs. Taff’s Well

Pencoed Athletic BGC vs. Aberystwyth Town

Chepstow Town vs. Pontypridd United

Aber Valley vs. Barry Town United

Pontardawe Town vs. Cambrian and Clydach Vale

Penydarren BGC vs. Swansea University

Cardiff Corinthians vs. Newtown

Aberfan vs. Trefelin BGC

Croesyceiliog vs. Briton Ferry Llansawel

Cwmbran Celtic vs. Llantwit Major

Newport City vs. Carmarthen Town

Denbigh Town vs. Connah’s Quay Nomads

Caersws vs. Flint Town United