After back-to-back victories in the JD Cymru Premier, Haverfordwest County were brought back down to earth with a 6-0 defeat to current leaders The New Saints at Park Hall.

A hat-trick from Declan McManus, along with goals from Ryan Brobbel, Danny Redmond and substitute Dean Ebbe gave the Saints a comfortable victory in Shropshire.

The Bluebirds had a couple of opportunities to get on the scoresheet, but the result was ultimately a reflection of TNS’ dominance.

Manager Wayne Jones made one change to the side which beat Newtown last weekend, with Jazz Richards coming into the side in place of Elliot Scotcher, who missed out through injury.

Prior to the opening goal, the Bluebirds had done a good job in keeping the Saints at bay, giving them a couple of chances to cause problems on the counter.

However, once Brobbel headed in from Redmond’s cross, it was one way traffic at Park Hall, with Anthony Limbrick’s side growing in confidence.

Just seven minutes after taking the lead, TNS were three goals to the good thanks to strikes from McManus, who showed his clinical touch from close range.

County lost their skipper, Dylan Rees, in first-half stoppage time, when the defender was unable to continue after taking a knock. He was replaced by Mason Jones-Thomas, who was then forced off just after the hour mark and replaced by Iori Humphreys, with the youngster producing another composed display.

Redmond added a fourth for the hosts with a powerful strike from outside the area, before McManus completed his hat-trick with a precise effort from close range.

Ebbe rounded off the scoring one minute from time when a ball forward found the striker in space, giving him time to unleash a shot which found the bottom left corner.

The result sees County drop down one place to 10th in the JD Cymru Premier, however the competitive nature of the league means Jones’ side remain just three points off fourth with 10 games still to play in Phase One.

The Bluebirds don’t have long to put this result behind them, with a home game against Barry Town United next up on Tuesday (November 9).

The New Saints: Harrison, Marriott (C), Astles, Routledge (Smith 80′), Brobbel, McManus (Ebbe 80′), Redmond, Hudson, Robles (Williams), Clark, Davies

Substitutes not used: Parry, Cieślewicz, Baker, Canavan

Yellow cards: McManus 16′, Brobbel 27′

Haverfordwest County: Gajda, Richards, Jones, Watts, Fawcett, Wilson, D. Rees (C) (Jones-Thomas 45+2′, Humphreys 60′), K. Rees, Touray Sisay, Lewis, Patten

Substitutes not used: Idzi, King, Davies

Yellow cards: Watts 51′

Attendance: 289