The First Instance Body (FIB) met remotely to assess and consider the 12 UEFA and 18 FAW Tier 1 applications.
Due to the ongoing COVID-19 pandemic, the FIB Panel took full consideration of any restrictions the clubs may have encountered in their Licence application as a result of the situation.
Eleven of the 18 applications for a Tier 1 licence have been successful, including 10 of the current JD Cymru Premier clubs and one club in Tier 2. In addition, 9 of the JD Cymru Premier clubs achieved a UEFA Licence.
Clubs are assessed on the following criteria:

Sporting: Youth & Coaching



Personnel & Administration

Financial and Codes of Practice

The FAW Tier 1 Licence is required for clubs to participate in the JD Cymru Premier and for those clubs who qualify for European competitions, a UEFA Licence is also a pre-requisite.
The Club Licensing system aims to assist the continual improvement and development of football clubs at the top level within Wales. Licensing is a transparent process that enables clubs to demonstrate to their stakeholders that they meet quality standards.
Following today’s meeting, the independent FIB Panel has decided on the following:
FAW Tier 1 Licence and UEFA Licence for 2020/21 Season (9 clubs)

Aberystwyth Town

Bala Town

Barry Town United

Caernarfon Town

Cardiff Met

Carmarthen Town

Connah’s Quay Nomads


The New Saints

FAW Tier 1 Licence for 2020/21 Season (2 clubs)

Haverfordwest County