Nathaniel MG Cup – Round 2
STM Sports 1 – Haverfordwest County 1 (courtesy of Gordon Thomas)

(STM Sports win 7-6 on penalties)

STM Sports won a dramatic sudden death penalty shootout to dump Haverfordwest County out of the Nathaniel MG Cup.
This cup tie was moved to Rhiw’r Ddar home of Taff’s Well, and on Saturday, STM Sports convincingly beat Haverfordwest County 4-1 in their league clash on the Bridge Meadow, however, this was a much closer contest.

Marcus Griffiths gave the visitors a half time lead, Josh Graham equalised for the hosts.

The tie was settled on penalties and STM Sports’ keeper Ben Boyer pulled off crucial saves to deny Kurtis Rees and Scott Tancock, and it was left to Chris Worsley who drilled in the winning spot-kick to send his team into the quarter finals where they will travel Latham Park to play Newtown.

The Bluebirds opened the scoring in the 25th minute, an excellent slow build up ended with deadly striker Griffiths scoring with a snapshot from inside the box past Boyer.

Thoma Frick looked dangerous from set pieces for The Mellons, he had two edge of the area free kicks saved by Kyle Stewart and the keeper also punched clear his curling goal bound corner. Frick also struck a sweet half volley which flew wide.

At the other end Griffiths cut in and unleashed a terrific shot that was brilliantly stopped by Boyer.

Ben Fawcett flashed a shot just wide as the teenager got on the end of a half-cleared corner.

The Mellons equalised in the 57th minute in fortuitous fashion. An under hit back pass saw Stuart’s failed clearance rebound off Josh Graham and deflected into the net.

Lamin Conteh broke into the box and his shot was saved by Stuart who dived down at his near post.

Griffiths nicked possession on the edge of the 18-yard box and drilled his shot over the crossbar.

Late on Sports’ substitute Chris Worsley weaved past a few defenders before firing a low shot just wide. In injury time Lamin Conte drilled a free kick inches over Stuart’s crossbar. And then the tie went to dreaded penalties where STM Sports kept their nerve to win 7-6.

Haverfordwest County: Kyle Stuart, Jake Merry (Ryan Hughes 84), Harri Rowe, Sean Pemberton (Captain), Ricky Watts, Scott Tancock, Kurtis Rees, Nicky Palmer, Ben Fawcett, Marcus Griffiths, Miles John (Jack Wilson 59).
Substitutes not used: Tim Hicks, Steven Hall